In 2016, Local Authority Heritage and Biodiversity Officers sponsored a pollinator-friendly Special Award in the 2016 Tidy Towns competition.

Competition was fierce, with nearly 60 entries submitted from across the Republic of Ireland. Winners were announced at the Tidy Towns award ceremony on September 26th in Dublin.

Congratulations to every community that took action to help pollinators, especially all eight regional winners, and the national winners, Birr (Co. Offaly) and Monaghan!



2016 Local Authority Pollinator Award entries:


Midlands East:

Abbeyleix, Laois; Ardclough, Kildare; Athboy , Meath; Ballacolla, Laois; Birr, Offaly; Blessington, Wicklow; Coole , Westmeath; Drogheda , Louth; Drumlish, Longford; Edenderry , Offaly; Geashill, Offaly; Julianstown, Meath; Kilcross, Sandyford, Dublin; Killenard , Laois; Kiltegan, Wicklow; Malahide, Dublin; Maynooth, Kildare; Streamstown, Westmeath.


North West:

Abbey, Galway; Ballina, Mayo; Ballintubber, Mayo; Ballyfarnon, Roscommon; Drumkeeran, Leitrim; Killeshandra, Cavan; Kilnaleck, Cavan; Kilteevan , Roscommon; Kinlough, Leitrim; Easkey, Sligo; Lisacul, Roscommon; Monaghan, Monaghan; Monivea, Galway; Moville, Donegal; Roosky, Leitrim; Roscommon , Roscommon; Sligo, Sligo; Strokestown , Roscommon; Tuam, Co. Galway.


South East:

Ballycanew, Wexford; Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny; Cahir, Tipperary; Clonmel , Tipperary; Cloughjordan, Tipperary; Emly, Tipperary; Hollyfort, Wexford; Inistioge , Kilkenny; Kilkenny City, Kilkenny; Killanne, Wexford; Tullahought, Kilkenny; Wexford, Co. Wexford.


South Mid-West:

Bandon , Cork; Castlelyons Bridesbridge, Cork; Drinagh, Cork; Kildorrey , Cork; Killarney, Kerry; Ladysbridge, Cork; Rosscarbery, Cork; Templeglantine, Limerick.